Command and Control

[1871 FAQs]   [General Play]   [Charges]   [Combat Results]   [Command and Control]   [Disorganization]   [Firing]   [Melees]   [Morale]   [Moving]   [Visibility]

COMMAND & CONTROL, ORDERS, ACTIVATIONS, SUPPRESSION, ETC.

Q: The movement of generals: They 'teleport' (once only, though, I presume?) to where most needed at the order activation stage.  But then when their units step smartly off, do they leave their generals behind, or do they move along with them in some way?

A:  Good point and one I obviously never thought to clarify.  I’d say that, once the general had trotted on over to some recalcitrant unit to help with it’s activation and having succeeded it would be the player’s prerogative to leave the general behind as the troops march off to glory, or to accompany them, as he saw fit.

Q: Does a brigade commander need to be within the command radius of his division commander and him in turn to be in command radius of the corps commander, for the corps commander to pass orders?

15mmBdeCmdr_275x301A:  Hmm… probably some confusion about “passing orders”, here.  No. This order business is just an abstraction; there doesn’t need to be a link between the brigadiers and their senior commanders for them to place order chits.  Ordering troops starts with the brigade commanders… whether the brigade is in command radius of its div or cps HQ doesn’t matter at this stage; what matters is whether the regiments’ stands are within command radius of their brigade commander.  If they’re not, its 20% less likely they’ll activate.  Where the div and cps HQ command radius is important is in the activation appeals process… if the brigade level activation fails, and the unit is within the division (or corps) command radius, the gamer can roll again on the higher level HQ’s command rating, to see if he can get a second chance to activate.15mm Brigade Commander

Q: Or can a corps commander allocate order chits to divisions and brigades beyond his command radius?

A:  Yes; the brigades don’t have to be within division or corps command radius to get chits or activate normally… but they do, as noted above, have to be within superior HQ command radius to “appeal”.

Q: An Order Chit can only be used to move an entire division when all brigades are in the same formation moving the exact same way?  Or is it ONLY brigades and regiments--not artillery, light infantry and cavalry divisional assets?

A:  The chit could be used to move an entire division (including any attached units like some corps artillery batteries or additional infantry assets) if it was capable of acting on the single order chit in the turn it was issued.  For instance, both brigades of a division in bivouac (a "disorganized" formation) could be given a single REFORM order to prepare them for a MOVE order the following turn.  You wouldn’t be able to give two different units a single CHARGE order, though, if one brigade was disorganized, and the other already in line formation, since disorganized units usually can’t charge.  To fall under the influence of a single order chit, all units to which the order was intended to apply -- including arty, light infantry, attached units, etc -- would have to be capable of responding identically.

Q: Cavalry divisions have no commanding officers.  It is not clear when or if they require an officer to receive orders.  Which officers can help activation and appeal?

A:  The flag-bearing stands of a cavalry unit (usually one per brigade) are the command stands in cavalry divisions; one of those stands also represents the divisional CO.  As long as a flag-bearer is present, the unit can receive orders… if the flag stand is eliminated, some other stand becomes the flag/command stand, just like the infantry "commander kill" criteria.  Some players like to have a separate divisional CO stand for their cavalry divisions, just to work their command mechanics for cavalry like the infantry units.  This is okay, too… it would be a non-combat stand, just like the infantry’s.  The appeal process would follow normal chain of command; divisional cavalry regiments would appeal to the division commander of the infantry division to which they were assigned; cavalry brigade commanders would appeal to their division commanders… who might appeal to the Army commander.

Q: Is a “continuing order” part of the corps order allotment, or is it in addition to the corps total?  Could you give some examples?

A:  A continuing order is one of the corps orders that remains in effect for several turns, not an additional order.  For instance, a French corps of one cavalry and three infantry divisions generates four order chits per turn.  On the first turn, the player (corps commander) issues one chit to his first division (which is still encamped) to “reform” into line.  The second division is already formed in columns, and so gets an order to move to (and occupy) a distant town -- this division’s order chit is in effect a “continuing order” because it will stay with the unit until it accomplishes its mission several turns later (or until the unit is stopped by the enemy, or receives new orders).

Meanwhile, the third order chit goes to a single brigade of the third division (also formed in columns), which the corps commander wants to occupy a strategic bit of high ground on his flank; because the corps reserve artillery park is within an inch of this brigade, the player attaches a couple of batteries to the brigade as well (their close proximity to the unit of attachment obviated the need for a separate chit to move the artillery).  The last order chit goes to the remaining brigade of the third division, to move up and face the approaching enemy.  It changes formation from column into line at the end of its move, so can move 2/3 of its movement as a column (8 inches), and spend the remaining 1/3 assuming a line formation.

At the end of the turn, therefore, the corps has one division moving towards a town under a continuing order, another division forming into a line in place, a brigade with a couple of batteries moving onto a hill, and another brigade moving forward a few inches.  The cavalry division and the remaining reserve artillery, for want of orders, remain where they are.

Q: If a continuing order does not require a chit each turn, does that mean, theoretically, that an entire corps could be moving during a turn on continuing orders and not require any order chits or activation rolls to move?

A:  Exactly.  The new chits the corps generates each turn could be used to change some moving unit’s objective, or split off a part of that unit to advance in another direction.  Or they might not be used at all.

Q: How about an example or two on command radius, order activations and appeals?

A:  Let’s say that one brigade of a division needs to be reformed, and the other brigade needs to move; further, let’s say that the first brigade has a weak commander.  The division is given two order chits by corps, so the division commander trots on over to first one to personally supervise the execution of the REFORM order by placing himself within an inch of the brigadier during the “Command and Control” phase, when the chits are being placed. He can now add his command rating to his subordinate’s, to increase the probability of the order being activated during the activation phase.  In doing so, however, he took himself farther than 8 inches (his command radius) from his second brigade.

The second brigade successfully activated its MOVE order by rolling less than its brigadier’s command rating -- but if it hadn’t, there would have been no opportunity to appeal (except to the corps commander); the division command was both beyond 8 inches, and was fully engaged in getting his first brigade moving anyway.  As it was, the division commander’s presence didn’t help the first brigade activate; it failed its activation roll by rolling too high.  The brigade was still within the corps commander’s 12-inch radius, however, and he undertook to intervene.  Since he was rated as a “Good” corps commander, a die roll of 3 got the brigade reforming.

Q: What is the difference between activation rolls and appeals?  It seems that both division and corps commanders can do appeals, correct?

A:  Correct.  You attempt to activate each chit is by first rolling against the brigade commander’s rating.  If the roll was too high to activate the order, it can be "appealed" to the division commander and/or the corps command to activate using his rating …if the senior commanders are available for appeals, that is.  Sometimes units (a brigade, say) get more than one roll because part of the unit (one of its regiments) is out of the commander’s command radius. Since this lowers the probability of activation by 20%, you’d have to roll twice on the same order… once for the regiment within the command radius of the commander, at his rating, and once for the regiment out of the commander’s radius, at 20% less.

Q: It seems that even when using one chit to move the entire division, each brigade has to roll separate activations… doesn’t it?

A:  Like the previous example, two rolls on a single (divisional) order chit would be necessary only if one brigade was out of the division commander’s command and control radius.  Otherwise, the whole division activates (or doesn’t) on the strength of the division commander’s command rating.  Since he’s the one giving the primary order, you apply his rating (let’s say it’s “Average”) to his roll as if he was an Average brigade commander.  He’d activate his whole division with a “7”.

Q: Do the non-activated Order Chits carried over from a previous turn count against the overall number of orders (chits) that can be given by that corps?

A:  No

Q: Say a German corps places 4 order chits turn 1, 2 do not activate in Turn One and hold over to Turn 2.  Therefore does the German corps have 2 new + 2 old order chits in Turn Two or, 2 old + 4 new?

A:  2 old + 4 new

Q:  Suppression Markers come off at end of turn of the second turn after a unit was suppressed.  Does it take an Order Chit to do this?  Do ‘Continuing Orders’ still apply?

A:  The suppression marker comes off automatically two turns after the unit was suppressed, unless re-suppressed the next turn, or is “unsuppressed” by order and morale check.  When a unit is suppressed, the Continuing Order is no longer valid, and is removed.  Once no longer suppressed, a new order gets the unit moving again (the order chit can be issued the same turn the suppression wears off)

Q: Why a black marker for suppression?

A:  Like the green casualty markers, it was inconspicuous and doesn’t mar the aesthetics of the game board unduly.  Plus, the black marker can also be used to show that a unit is routed by placing it on the unit – instead of using a marker of yet another color.  If you’d rather use some other method to denote suppression, though, be my guest -- some guys like to use a wounded casualty figure, for instance: first turn of suppression gets two of these, second turn gets one.

 

footer_art

©2000-2019. GrandTacticalRules.com by Bruce Weigle.

Email Webmaster.  Web Site Design by Amira.  Powered by PCGE